cbdragon-4Kingdom: Animalia
Phylum: Chordata
Class: Reptilia
Order: Squamata
Suborder: Sauria





Australian lizards fall into five families:


  • Gekkonidae - the gekkos
  • Pygopopodidae - leggless lizards
  • Scincidae - the skinks
  • Agamidae - the dragons
  • Varanidae - Goannas or monitors

Australia has a large diversity of lizards widely distributed across the continent. Vision, including color vision, is particularly well developed in lizards generally speaking and many communicate with body language or bright colors on their bodies.


Reference: A Complete Guide to Reptiles of Australia

– Steve Wilson & Gerry Swan -

Copyright © 2016 - Hawkesbury Herpetological Society Inc.